Ups and Downs

Discussions relating to Lower Back Pain.
EngineerDoug

Ups and Downs

Post by EngineerDoug » Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:15 am

Hello all,

I've been lurking and posting here over the last year and thought I would give you an update and perhaps compare my experience with others. In short, I have an L5 protrusion that gives me modest/intermittent back pain. Seldom do I get symptoms down the leg, and I have no numbness or weakness. I've been doing core work ever since the injury 14 months ago, and have managed to put a lid on my discomfort that way. It's safe to say that I have improved slowly, and I often have periods of a week or several where there is only minor discomfort. The problem is I keep getting small flareups. I had one last fall and submitted to an epidural. I didn't think the epidural did much of anything for me. I had another one in early January and could not see any immediate results. One very interesting thing about the second epidural, however, was that I did not feel any pain radiating down the nerve when the shot was given. The first time in October I could feel pain all the way down the leg when I got the shot. So my doctor told me that I must have done some healing by the time I got the second one because pain down the nerve is a sign the nerve is not happy. He told me to just keep working out and give it time.

I see a physical therapist every 2 weeks and he has taken a similar stance. He tells me to take Celebrex when I have flareups to manage inflammation and keep going. He has also told me that it could take up to another year for this to stop bothering me. Maybe the darn nerve is healing and just has not yet decided to stop complaining.